This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.6 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
8.2
Property location
8.9
Facilities
8.3
Staff
9.5
Value
8.7
Reviews
    Maud
    hk
    8.3
    9 July 2017
    Simple and warm Tibetan guest house
    The family is warm and welcoming, we had a great time talking with them around the diner table. The house is cute with such a nice interior. It is just near by a bus stop but no too close from the crowd of Jiuzhaigou Park.
    Nicholas
    cn
    9.2
    8 July 2017
    Wonderful experience
    The room we had was nice enough, and very warm, but didn't have any windows which some people might find a big claustrophobic.
    I chose to stay at this place for two nights for its convenience for visiting the Jiuzhaigou National Park. Even though it's a little distance away from the park gate, this was no problem as they drove us to the gate in the morning and then met us at their restaurant in the village and drove us back in the evening. The price included breakfast and dinner and they cooked us two really hearty, delicious Tibetan/Chinese dinners with barley wine, as well as fresh baked bread and fried eggs for breakfast. All the hosts were extremely friendly and hospitable throughout and you got to experience staying in a wonderful Tibetan house with its beautifully decorated and cosy living room, wood stove.
    Panagiotis
    de
    7.1
    11 May 2017
    Probably due to not meeting Zhuo Ma, the language barrier was quite high, so there was little chance to have anything more than a very shallow exchange/interaction, which reduced significantly the "homestay" character of the place.
    Breakfast was decent, including honey-barley-butter-tea which was quite delicious and all by their own produce. Also, the grandmother would cook happpily for us something delicious to eat. They were very helpful, happy to drop us out where we wanted - to the city or to the park. They also arranged for getting a shared cab with other people to the airport, since the bus does not have a fixed schedule during low season...
    Laura
    gb
    9.6
    5 February 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    leejiabao
    es
    10
    14 January 2017
    Awesome place to try something different!
    At the first I wondered how could a few nights in a tibetan homestay be more expensive than the Sheraton in the same area. After our three days in Ama's house we were more than happy about the decision of staying there, it offered us a really different experience and made us to enjoy the trip more than expected. It's a really cozy house and friendly hosts, great food and service, totally recommendable.
    Fiona
    au
    10
    13 January 2017
    A must if going to china
    Food was great! All transportation was organised. Loveliest people and made me feel at home. Organised a horse ride as well. Everything was perfect.
    TravelJem
    au
    9.6
    8 January 2017
    The warmth and hospitality of Zhuo Ma's in second to none in the Valley
    I went to Jiuzhaigou in the middle of winter, which is bitterly bitterly cold. The homestay doesn't have central heating or reverse cycle a/c - why would it, it's a traditional Tibetan house... but the oven in the sitting room is a blessing, there's tea almost literally on tap, and the electric blankets on the bed keep you super toasty warm at night. Just make sure you are properly prepared for freezing conditions, and you will be fine, just as I was. I also did the horse ride while I was there, which is done by one of the neighbours, and has little to do with the homestay. As a female travelling alone, I mostly felt absolutely safe and comfortable throughout China, with the exception of a few creepy experiences which I managed quickly. The horse ride was one of those moments where I didn't feel completely comfortable, partly as we kept stopping so the farmer could have a smoke, which wasn't really what I was paying for - I wanted to ride! It wasn't until I saw him with his kids a little later in the ride that I felt comfortable. I think it was really a cultural/language barrier more than anything else, but if you're a single female travelling alone (if you're travelling alone in China you're probably pretty strong and confident anyway), just make sure you feel comfortable and don't be afraid to push things to go your way.
    Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant! There is nothing like Zhuo Ma and Ama's warm Tibetan hospitality to keep you cosy on a sub-zero night in Jiuzhaigou. If you are looking for concierge to carry your bags to your ensuite room where you can order room service and watch international tv while eating your breakfast in bed - well I would suggest you go and stay in one of the many sterile soul-less hotels popping up throughout the Jiuzhaigou valley, creating an eyesore of the place by spoiling the remoteness and beauty of the valley and surrounding mountains. Zhuo Ma's homestay gives you the genuine experience of living in the valley with a family who warmly open their doors to anyone willing to open their hearts to the beautiful Sichuan-Tibetan culture in the valley. Ama's cooking is second to none, and although she doesn't speak much English (or Chinese), she makes you feel so at home and comfortable. Given it was just Ama and I during my stay, we had some fantastic conversations, even though we couldn't speak the same language! Zhuo Ma's home is located about a 20 minute drive from the park entrance, which isn't an issue as one of Zhuo Ma's two brothers will happily drive you to where you want to go when it suits. I also did the cooking class at the restaurant (which is fantastic and you should definitely eat there one night) and really enjoyed myself. I love love love my apron too! Thank you so much to this beautiful family. You are welcome in my home any time!
    Jennifer
    fr
    8.8
    10 December 2016
    A great family!
    We didn't really unliked it, but it's a bit more hard to stay during winter, cause there's no heater in the house (but fire in the living room, and the beds are heated), and it's a "western" bathroom, which means with toilets and shower together. It's an experience to live, but you've to know that if you don't like it.
    AMA & DUZIEJHU!! :D They are amazing, and so nice! We really enjoyed our stay because of them! Ama (the mum), cooks for everyone and it's always delicious, and even if she doesn't really speak english, she's really friendly and she took care of us! And Duziejhu (the son), speaks some english (enough to communicate and laught!) is always there to help! He also picked us up from the bus station, and took us back there, and to the Jiuzhaigou's park! If you want to have an amazing time, just go there and you'll leave in a typical tibetan life, at the top of the mountains! Thank you a lot! Jenny & Manon (2 french sisters)
    Mirjam
    nl
    3.3
    29 August 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Gareth
    nz
    9.6
    5 July 2016
    Amazing Tibetan homestay with welcoming family
    Felt a bit sorry for the horses on the horse trek, they just looked a bit tired and sad and were swarmed with flys. However not really a reflection on the homestay itself as the horses weren't theirs, rather some guys down the road - both really friendly Tibetan guys, but just felt a bit uneasy about the animals themselves.
    Authentic Tibetan homestay set away from the touristy parts of Jiuzhaigou, yet still close enough to the national park (if that's where you're headed - one of the family will happily give you a lift either to the park or bus station and pick you up if you ring ahead). Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all good, even for vegetarians. Great for hiking or horse trekking around the mountains. All the family are really friendly and make you feel at home, and speak English too which was a bonus. Room was basic but clean and comfortable, great views from bedroom window. Great stay in the mountains overall.
    Yu-Hsin
    cn
    10
    3 July 2016
    The hostel is hard to find... Would be great if we may get the direct phone number of contact before we arrive, because when we called the only one number provided on the website, they weren't answered. After waiting and calling in vein, the pickup of hostel came later. But the problem is there were too many people trying to get us in for a charged ride, and it was hard to tell which would be the right person who is supposed to pick us up.
    Keep in mind that this is a family house, most likely it is not for travelers who prefer hotel kind of facilities. However, if you want to experience the traditional Tibetan way of living, with home-made food and in an incredible energetic and peaceful atmosphere, this is the best option. Ama is the best hostess I've ever had, making our stay with great meals, great laughters, and sharing her life experience and wisdom.
    Hoi Shan Sandy
    hk
    9.2
    25 June 2016
    We are so happy to have chosen this home stay and met the host family. It's really worth!!!!
    We had a great lovely stay here. Enjoyed chatting with Mr. Du and Ah Ma. Mr. Du is truly helpful and tried his very best to make the most convenient arrangements for us. Food they provided was amazingly delicious. They even packed lunch for us which is their "responsibility to take care" of us according to Mr. Du. Their home is traditionally designed in Tibetan style. The room is fairly comfortable. Do not expect for the toilet facilities, haha as it is just a farm house. They have another more modernized toilet inside the house though. Warm water is provided but we are not sure of the stability as we did not bath there.
    Nathan
    au
    9.6
    11 June 2016
    Can't beat home cooking !
    The home stay atmosphere - so warm & friendly. The food especially the Yak butter tea-delicious ! Every night had a great sleep & the free transport to the National Park was great service. Couldn't recommend it enough :-)
    Sarah
    fr
    7.5
    31 March 2016
    Beautiful Tibetan experience !
    There is no heating in the bedrooms so make sure you have warm clothes in the winter. Towels are not provided.
    The whole family is extremely nice and very welcoming.The guesthouse gave a true Tibetan experience and atmosphere to our Jiuzhaigou visit. The whole family, except the grandma, can speak some English. They provide free transfer to and from the park. The shower has hot water. You can eat the various local meals in the common room by the fire. They can arrange activities/services for an extra fee like Tibetan cooking class in their cozy restaurant close to the park entrance, horse riding, pick up/drop off at the airport.
Close